What do you want to be when you’re older?

A question asked to you at many stages of your life. When you’re younger you don’t really think about it, ‘a nurse,’ ‘a fireman,’ ‘a teacher,’ with your imagination you can be anything you want to be.

It wasn’t until I started doing my A-Levels that I really started to think about this question. And my answer? I don’t know.

For most of my teens, I thought that I would be a teacher. I wanted to make a difference and believed that teaching would be my way of doing so. However, the older I got the more I felt like I was taking the easy option. But then what do I want to be if I don’t want to be a teacher?

I have passions and I have hobbies but honestly I don’t think there’s every been something that has just made me go ‘THIS! This is it! I want to do this for the rest of my life.’ (well at least something I could get a career out of.)

When it came to applying to university it took me months before I decided on what I wanted to do. I went to many open days and looked into several different courses. In the end I went for a major/minor in Computer Science and Business. I’ve never been interested in either but at least with those I’d have options after I graduated.

I realised months into the degree that this was probably the worst thing for me to have done. It changed everything about me. I stopped being social, I became unhappy and unmotivated. I wanted to drop out of university and leave all the friends that I had made behind. However, after talking to friends and family I decided it was better to change course rather than to drop out.

I choose History. And everyday I thank God that I did this. I fell in love. It was as if everything clicked into place for me. I loved writing, I loved reading, I loved research. I always liked History at school but this was different. In a way, I felt at home in my little town doing something I loved.

I still don’t know what I want to be when I’m older but hey, at least I’m getting there.

xo

3 Comments

Add yours →

  1. I wanted to be a writer but fell into marketing, which I was never really happy about. But plans change and people change and these days all I really want to be when I’m older is someone that still laughs at stupid stuff and has lots of random stories to tell, which is working out just fine so far. I guess you just figure this stuff out as you go along

    Loving your blog so far. You write well 🙂

    Charlotte xxx
    http://www.foxsocks.co.uk

    Like

  2. I never really knew what I wanted to do when I was younger but I thought maybe… a teaching assistant? Why? because I love to be that ‘support’ when people need it. I didn’t want to go to uni but I was so confused about what I wanted and what would be good for me that I ended up just studying a subject I loved at school (Religious Studies btw) On one hand, I’m glad I did because I love culture and beliefs and it deepened my love for research, writing and getting to know and understand people better but, on the other hand, when I left uni I had no confidence and no experience and only had anxiety about my future. Fast forward a couple of years I am now actually a teaching assistant and although I don’t believe this is where I’m supposed to be for the rest of my life I have actually grown in confidence and realised what I do not want to do/be when I get older. Sorry for the long comment but what I actually wanted to share was that it’s okay not to know and that we are all, as Charlotte said, just figuring stuff out along the way 🙂

    thoseknots.blogspot.co.uk

    Like

Leave a Reply

